We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 8 Posts
    Hi everyone, I've been using Modx for a few months now and despite getting more comfortable with it, I still feel lost in some respects. Throughout my time using Modx I've read through the forums on this site and found the answers to tons of questions, so to all those who indirectly answered my questions by answering others in the past, a huge thanks!

There are still a few things I'm stuck on and I would really appreciate some help.

Here are some of the challenges I'm running into:

1 - I'm using Login.Register. I need to make the snippet send an e-mail to the admins notifying them there is a new user awaiting their approval, and in the meantime not allow the user to access the site until admin has approved them. Is there a way to have the user activate their account via e-mail yet still be blocked until approval? How should I go about doing this?

2 - When I create a new account using Login.Register, it sends the validation e-mail to the user, but clicking on the link directs the user to page 1. I've tested it having removed the confirmRegister snippet and it directs the user to the proper confirmRegister page. Maybe my permissions are set too high? Any ideas on how I can troubleshoot this?

3 - I'm trying to create a basic front-end interface for an admin usergroup to view a list of newly registered users for the website. The admins could then approve the user and activate their account. I'm using 'Peoples 1.0.1' to get a list of inactive users. Then in the chunk I'm creating a submit button with a snippet and sending [[+internalKey]] variable to it. And from there I'm not sure how to set this up. I know I need to put something like $user -> set('active', '1'); but I don't know what code to put in before that to identify the user as the same one from the internalKey variable.