We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 58 Posts
    Hello,

I’m just a noob in MODx and searching for a solution or a hint within a couple of hours for the following task on several MODx sites:

On a MODx installation I like to implement a kind of workflow that allow users with no publishing rights to create their content and passing it to the chief editor after finishing.
    I could imagine, that ’authors’ send the editor ab automated email, e.g. if their ’Publish Document’ link will call this email function like ’Send Publishing Request’.

Is there is any likewise functionality (and I’m to blind) to find it or is it a matter of ’snipping’, or ’plugging’?

Thanks in advanced,
    greetings from Germany,
    iRolf
      • 4,205 Posts
      I have been planning a similar workflow but it is still in planning at this stage. We are looking at having 3 different user types (author, editor and publisher). We can then use a checkboxe TV that need to be set on completion of each stage. Then we will need a plugin to perform some logic to ’move’ the document along the production chain.

The challenge is to not allow the author to edit once the document has been submitted for approval. This had me stumped since both the author and the editor would both have the same permissions (edit and save document but not publish). the answer here is to not only have different roles but to also have different document groups for each type of user. You need this to be able to lock out specific user groups as the document moves along the chain. So the plugin would also need to set the document groups according to the production stage that the document is in.

And then build a simple manager module to allow easy monitoring of the documents that are in production.

This is the method that I came up with, but I have not worked out any of the plugin logic yet. Any other ideas?